I thought deactivating my
Facebook account would stop the social network from tracking me online. But Facebook
kept tabs on me anyway.
Over the past year, I've tried
to minimize my presence on Facebook. I deleted a 10-year-old account and
replaced it with a dummy account that I use as little as possible. I deleted
the app from my phone.
As of January, I started
deactivating my dummy account every time I used it, rather than just log out. I
couldn't break up completely with Facebook because I needed it to sign up twice
a week for a workshop.
I thought the precautions would
reduce how much data Facebook gathered about me. Turns out, I was wasting my
time.
Even when your account is
deactivated, the social network continues collecting data about your online
activities. All that data gets sent back to Facebook and is tied to your
account while it's in this state of limbo. It's as if you'd changed nothing.
Facebook says it only removes
all of your data if you permanently delete your account. Deactivating isn't as
extreme, the company says, and the social network continues collecting your
data in case you change your mind and want to return to your profile. Facebook
expects deactivated users to return and wants to continue serving them ads
relevant to their new interests.
A
deceptive practice'
On the site, Facebook explains
that deactivating is a half-step to complete deletion. But it says little about
how data collection works during the period. In its data policy, Facebook
suggests deactivation to manage your privacy but doesn't mention that it still
collects data during that period.
The ongoing collection of data
from deactivated accounts could be considered misleading, privacy experts warn.
"Most people would expect
less or no data collection during a deactivated period," said Gabriel
Weinberg, CEO and founder of private search engine DuckDuckGo.
"Deactivated means cease to operate, and you wouldn't expect all the
wheels to be turning."
For consumer transparency
purposes, I would be concerned that this is a deceptive practice.
Kathleen McGee, former chief of
New York State attorney general's Internet Bureau
The average person would assume
that Facebook pauses data collection when your account is deactivated, said
Kathleen McGee, the former chief of the New York State attorney general's
Internet Bureau.
People could look at
deactivating accounts and mistake it for an opt-out when it isn't, she
explained.
"For consumer transparency
purposes, I would be concerned that this is a deceptive practice," said
McGee, now a technology counsel at the Lowenstein Sandler law firm.
The vague disclosure the social
network provides is another point of concern about its privacy protections.
In March 2018, Facebook found
itself in hot water after Cambridge Analytica, a British consultancy, was
collecting information about people on the social network through several
personality quizzes. The backlash prompted a campaign encouraging people to
delete their Facebook accounts. The Pew Research Center found that 42 percent
of Americans have taken a break from the social network at some point during
the last year.
Active tracking
Facebook already monitors online
activity, including the browsing habits of members who have logged out or
people who don't have accounts. In the latter case, the social network doesn't
have the names of individuals but can still customize ads based on browsing. It
does this with tools like Facebook Pixel and plugins such as the Share button
on pages.
The social network's Share
button is on 275 million web pages. It collects data allowing advertisers to
see what kind of content you're viewing. That's why you're likely to see ads
for sports in your Facebook feed if you've been visiting a lot of sports
websites.
If you aren't a member, the
social network can follow your activity through your browsers and deliver ads
using its Facebook Audience Network, the company detailed in 2016. The service
uses your browsing habits to target ads as you surf the internet, just as it
would if you were on Facebook. Even if you don't have an account, Facebook is
following you.
Facebook said deactivating your
account was never intended to be a measure for data privacy but rather for
privacy from other people on Facebook.
It makes sense to deactivate
your account if you're trying to hide from people online because other users
won't see your profile, posts and previous comments. You're essentially
invisible to everyone on the social network. Except Facebook. It does nothing to
prevent Facebook from collecting data on you.
Your best bet to stop the data
collection is to delete your account. You'll get 30 days to change your mind.
During that period, Facebook will continue gathering data about you, the
company said.
Weinberg suggested that Facebook
either change its data collection for deactivated accounts or explain that
caveat better to people.
"Companies should always
try to match user expectations to whatever feature they're providing,"
Weinberg said.
Surprising consumers is usually
a cause for alarm for regulators, McGee said. With Facebook failing to
explicitly explain that your data is still being collected, even when your
account is deactivated, the former prosecutor argued, a reasonable consumer is
being misled.
